BOMARZO THE PARK OF MONSTERS IN ITALY – ROME
Bomarzo, the park of monster, is not far from Rome. “The park of Monsters”, is an extremely fascinating garden rich of mysteries. Our Bomarzo park of monster tour is an half day private guided tour .
.One hour north of Rome in the middle of the land of the Etruscans, the Villa of Marvels was built in 1552 by the Orsini family inside a secret garden full of giant statues of monsters, gods and mystic animals. Re-named as the Park of Monsters of Bomarzo.
The “Park of Monsters”, also called “Sacro Bosco” (sacred wood) or “Villa delle Meraviglie di Bomarzo” ( Villa of Wonders of Bomarzo)is located in the province of Viterbo, (one hour north of Rome) is an Italian monumental complex. It is a natural park decorated with numerous basalt sculptures dating back to the 16th century and depicting mythological animals, gods and monsters....
In a “symbolic labyrinth” immersed in the lush green, you will spend an half day guided tour in a magical atmosphere as “the Park of monsters of Bomarzo”
“The park of Monsters of Bomarzo” was devised by the architect “Pirro Ligorio” , he completed “the Cathedral of Saint Peter in Rome” after the death of “Michelangelo Buonarroti” and built also the famous “Villa d’Este in Tivoli”. This Magic place was commissioned by “the Prince Pier Francesco Orsini” start in the year 1547.
“The Prince Pier Francesco Orsini” called the park simply “grove” and dedicated it to his wife, Giulia Farnese (not to be confused with the homonymous concubine of Pope Alexander VI).
The Impossible architecture of “the park of Monsters” such as “the inclined house”, or some “enigmatic statues”, according to some, represent “the stages of an itinerary of alchemical origin.”
Historical, scientists and philologists have made several attempts to explain the labyrinth of symbols, and have found “ancient themes” and “motifs from Renaissance literature”, for example from “Francesco Petrarca’s Canzoniere”, “Ludovico Ariosto’s Orlando furioso” and “Bernardo Tasso’s poems Amadigi and Floridante.” (in the latter, for example, a “steel dragon” appears with a room inside, and from whose mouth came Amazons on horseback). However, so many mysteries remain that a homogeneous interpretative scheme, in the end, perhaps could not even be found; a possible key inscription appears on a pillar: “Sol to vent the core“.
“John Shearman” who mentions the park several times in his Mannerism, speaks of “incredible, pleasant and above all manifest fictions – products of artistic and literary escape”.
In the year 1585, after the death of the “last prince Orsini”, “the park of Monsters” was abandoned and in the second half of the twentieth century it was restored by the couple “Giancarlo and Tina Severi Bettini” who are buried in the small temple inside the park, which is perhaps also Giulia’s sepulcher. Farnese.
In 1948 the park was visited by“Salvator Dalì” who for the occasion had himself framed in original poses among the main monuments and defined the place as a unique historical invention.
Enjoy our Bomarzo the park of monster Tour.