Nymphaeum of Annibaldis
Discovered in 1895 during the developmental work on the homonymous street, the Nymphaeum is reachable by a small door in the wall of via degli Annibaldi, behind the Colosseum. The underground location is dated at the time of Augustus and it’s dedicated to the nymphs, to plants, and to all the magical elements that may be found in the mythology of the woods.
In ancient times the nymphaeums included facilities equipped with tanks and water plants by which the nobles spent moments of leisure or feasting.
The Nymphaeum degli Annibaldi, originally made up of a semi-elliptical shape, almost certainly belonged to a wealthy home. It’s decorated by niches and enhanced with ornaments made of mother of pearl, shells, pumice and enamel that make this place unique.
GO BACK TO THE ROME TOURS
FOR MORE INFORMATION FILL OUT THIS FORM